Posted in Thoughts

Countdown: Simplifying Dreams

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly writing challenge: “Countdown.”

The term ‘Countdown’ always reminds me of New Year. Well, I don’t like celebrating New Year with a too much and crowded party all night long, I don’t see the point of that. But yeah, I love sharing moment with my family and friends while watching the fireworks. I love fireworks, who doesn’t? 🙂

Commonly, in the end of year, people tend to make New Year’s resolution to reflect on the changes they want to make. I’m not the type of person who’s interested in making list of things I need to do in the next year, to be honest. I don’t know, but I don’t want to expect. I’m a bit skeptical that if I can’t make it real, I’ll be disappointed. Because, I’m a big dreamer, but at the same time I consider myself as a lazy person. I often fail to encourage myself despite having a lot of ideas to improve. So I decide to let my life flow, but I keep dreaming.

I have a lot of dreams, some of them:

  • Being a novelist. I love writing fiction. I can get inspiration from anything. Once I have an idea, my head will process all the story line including the scenes. The thing is, as I said, I’m a lazy person. I’m so moody; really depend on my mood to write. That’s why I never did finish my novel.
  • Being an animator. I love multimedia and making simple animations. I really want to improve my skill, so I can make more variety commercial animations. But yeah, I’m too lazy to do so.
  • Having many kind of business, such as photography studio and a clothing line with my own design and brand. I already have concept, but it just remains a concept because I don’t do some worthy efforts to make it real.

I’m that bad. I never regret for things I’ve done, but I do regret for things I didn’t do. But I see no point in blaming myself. I realize that I need to do more efforts in everything, and shouldn’t allow the laziness to come 😀 And I think I still can make my dreams happen. May be I just need to simplify them. I shouldn’t think much about this and that in realizing my dreams. People can’t reach all of their dreams overnight, so I should start with a small step. Perhaps I need to change my assumption that the to-do-list will end up being an unreachable expectation, but it could be the reminder and motivation for me to make consistent steps in order to make my dreams happen. The most important thing of all that I should be a better person. Through the good and bad, I thank 2014. And I’m ready for the new challenges in 2015 🙂

“The best way to make your dreams come true is to wake up.” – Paul Valéry

One thought on “Countdown: Simplifying Dreams

Leave a Reply

