Posted in Thoughts

All About Ramadhan and Idul Fitri

Today is the 6th day of Idul Fitri, but I hope it’s not too late to talk about Ramadhan and Idul Fitri. I want to share about what Ramadhan and Idul Fitri mean to me.

Eid Mubarak!
Eid Mubarak!

RAMADHAN

Ramadhan is a special month, a month that muslim will always wait for, a month that’s full of blessings, forgiveness, and guidance from Allah SWT. These are some things that I learn from Ramadhan.

Prayers and Deeds

As we know, in Ramadhan, Allah will give us rewards much more any other month for our prayers and deeds. Thus, we as muslim should do as much prayers and deeds as we can. It’s not only about taraweeh, tadarus, etc, but every good and positive thing could be valued as deed if we do it with a sincere heart, Insha Allah.

To Feel What The Poor Feel

We do shaum (fasting) from fajr to maghreeb, we are not allowed to eat, drink, and do anything that could break our fasting. By not eating and drinking for hours, we could feel what the poor feel when they are starving, don’t have any food to eat. Indeed, shaum can make us feel so grateful that we are so lucky compare to them.

Learning How to Maintain Ourselves

In Ramadhan there are some changes in our activities. For instance, of course we are not allowed to have lunch, but we do sahoor in early morning before fajr instead. Waking up early isn’t that easy, therefore we have to maintain ourselves to sleep earlier before midnight. At least, it’s a reminder for me, because I’m the person who is so lazy to wake up for sahoor, my mom is so patient to wake me up many times.

Self-Reflection (Muhasabah)

As for me, Ramadhan could be the time for me to do muhasabah. Although we need to do muhasabah everytime, not only in Ramadhan, but of course in Ramadhan there is a tendency that pushes us to reflect ourselves. Too many things to evaluate, but the followings are the things I want to manage the most.

– Gratefulness

We might not realize it that sometimes we moan about many things more often than being grateful for what Allah gives us. Try to look around, and we’ll find many things that make us feel so grateful in many ways.

– Patience

I have to confess that I’m a person who’s easily annoyed, gets mad for some inconveniences. Ramadhan teaches me how to be a patient one.

– Sincerity

We might often feel hard to let something go. Losing the ones we love, being humiliated by someone else, or any other things that lead us to the endless anger and sadness. To let go isn’t an easy thing to do, yet doesn’t mean we can’t. Be devoted to Allah and Allah will guide us to be a sincere one, insha Allah.

I hope every one of us can be a better person, not only in Ramadhan, but also the days after. Aamiin.

IDUL FITRI

Idul Fitri is a victory, especially for those who passed their shaum very well during ramadhan. In Idul Fitri we ask forgiveness to each others, happily doing silaturahim and being in togetherness.

My family doesn’t do mudik, since most of our big family have been living in Medan. Me and my mom would be waiting for my sisters and brother who have been married to come with their little families. But this Idul Fitri is a bit different, me and my mom celebrate Eid in Tangerang Selatan, at my sister’s house. We really enjoy our togetherness in Idul Fitri, although it could be a touching moment for us too because we miss our dad who passed away three years ago. Nothing we can do but sending him our prayers.

By the way, talking about Idul Fitri is not complete without talking about food. It’s a common thing that in Eid people will serve some special foods. It doesn’t mean that we have to celebrate Eid festively, but providing food and sharing it to our neighbours is something beautiful and has been part of tradition. In my family, just like others’, we also make Lebaran cakes and biscuits, rendang, dendeng, balado, etc. But the most special food for us in Eid is Lontong Sayur which is made by my mom.

Lontong Sayur Medan
Lontong Sayur Medan

I write this post to share with Indonesian Hijab Blogger  and all bloggers who are connected with me here. I know it’s a bit late, but I still want to wish you all HAPPY EID MUBARAK! Please forgive me for the mistakes I’ve made. I hope we can keep the beautiful silaturahim between us. May Allah always bless us all, aamiin.

SELAMAT HARI RAYA IDUL FITRI 1436H

MINAL AIDIN WALFAIDZIN

Tulisan ini diikutsertakan dalam IHB Challenge All About Ramadhan & Idul Fitri.

23 thoughts on “All About Ramadhan and Idul Fitri

  1. Mohon maaf lahir batin Icha. I’m sorry to know about your father, hope Allah gives him all the best.
    It is wonderful that you can celebrate Idul Fitri in Medan and Tangerang. It feels like you combine two tradition in that circumstances. Great.

Leave a Reply

