Posted in Chit Chat

Chit-chat About Social Media

Social media could be an endless topic to talk about. In this internet era, we cannot deny the popularity of social media. You can share and get information easily, connected with your friends or know new people from all over the world, grow your business, and many other positive things that I don’t need to mention. Nevertheless, social media also has negative impacts, such as fake information and news, bullying, and cyber crimes. Well, I don’t want to talk about those things too far, if you’re interested to read my other post about social media related you can read it here. Like the title “Chit Chat About Social Media”, in this post I just want to talk about something light and fun.

Sosmed copy

Like many people, I have social media accounts as well. I was on Facebook, but I already deactivated it a few years ago. I don’t know why, maybe I was just bored. But I chose the temporary option when I deactivated it, so I can reactivate it anytime. I joined Path, but I didn’t really feel the fun there, I decided to uninstall it but didn’t close my account. I don’t know if I change my mind to be active on it someday. I’ve joined Twitter since 2009. Wow, I was addicted to it, hahaha. No wonder my tweets reach 22k more numbers. I mostly tweet football,  talk and debate about football with my followers who are mostly Manchester United fans, haha. I love Twitter so much. But I’ve rarely been on Twitter these days, for the same reason, bored. I still tweet sometimes, though. And I don’t deactivate it because I don’t want to lose my account. Another social media that I’m still active on is Instagram. Yeah, Twitter and Instagram could be my favourite.

I want to talk about Instagram in particular. I’ve joined Instagram since 2013. I love Instagram so much because it is simple and it’s intriguing to see pictures that people share from all over the world. Instagram has been an exciting place for people to share their photos, from just personal accounts to business needs like online shops etc. Many professional photographers choose Instagram to show off their works. And for us who just love taking pictures, Instagram is a cozy place to share our photos and it encourages us to learn more about photography. I think that Instagram could be our virtual photos album, we can see it again someday in the future with a smile in the face to see the moments we’ve shared on it.

People tend to follow their interests on Instagram. So do I. I’m interested in football-fashion-photography the most. That’s why I mostly follow those accounts who provide pictures related to those things. As for football,  you know I’m a Manchester United fan, of course I’m following their account, and some players like Wayne Rooney and Juan Mata. Although I’m not a very fashionable girl, I’m fond of fashion. And since I’m a hijabi, I’m mostly following hijab fashionistas or designers like Dian Pelangi and Ria Miranda. But all of those hijab fashionistas, my favourite is Indah Nada Puspita. Sometimes she puts on the simple outfits, sometimes the festive ones. But why does everything seem to always look good on her? Hahaha. As for the photography, I’m following a lot of accounts from landscape to food photography. Chris Burkard and Daniel Kordan are travel photographers whose photos will excite your eyes. For Indonesia-related photography, I’m following accounts like instanusantara, indonesian_photography, and some more.

img_20160425_2.png
My photo that was liked by the official account of Manchester United.

Sometimes, small things on social media make us happy. It happened to me recently. The official account of Manchester United liked my photo! Well, maybe for some people something like that isn’t special. But for me, it is. I know it was just a like, not a repost or something. But still, to be noticed and liked by Manchester United account- which is always tagged by millions of fans on their photos- is something lovely, hihihi. And because Manchester United liked my photo, the fans liked my photo too and it reaches 956 likes, the biggest amount of likes that I’ve ever got on Instagram. Happiness is simple, isn’t it? Well, what about you? What social media platforms are you on and which one is your favourite? And what things that make you happy on social media? I’ll be very glad if you want to share with me. Have a nice day, Muggles!

4 thoughts on “Chit-chat About Social Media

Leave a Reply

